About the Paper

The Independent

Gathers Monroe County News Around The Clock

If It Happens In Monroe County… It’s News To Us!

We report news in the Monroe County, Illinois communities of Columbia • Waterloo • Valmeyer • Maeystown • Fults • Hecker • Madonnaville • Foster Pond • Fountain • Harrisonville • Renault • Wartburg • Tipton • New Design • New Hanover • Monroe City • Boxtown • Ames • St. Joe • Burksville • and the Monroe County Sides of Red Bud, Millstadt, Prairie du Rocher, New Athens and Dupo.


The Independent was founded March 17, 2001, by Monroe County native Edward J. Wienhoff of Waterloo.

The paper is published by the Independent Media Group Ltd., owned by Ed-itor Wienhoff. "The I" is printed twice monthly, the first and third Fridays of the month. In addition, paid mail delivery subscribers are able to receive breaking news E-Newsletters. 

Editorial Office

P.O. Box 615
109 West Legion Street
Columbia, Illinois 62236

Phone: 618-281-NEWS (6397)